Map Overview

Ibadan is the third largest metropolitan area in Nigeria after Lagos and Kano. The city of Ibadan has 11 Local Government Areas: Egbeda, Ibadan North, Akinyele, Ibadan North East, Ibadan North West, Ibadan South East, Ibadan South West, Ido, Lagelu, Oluyole and Ona-Ara. With a population of 3.1 million and a land area of 3,850 square kilometers (2013), Ibadan city is the largest metropolitan geographical area in West Africa, housing almost half of Oyo State’s population (45 percent). From around 60,000 in the early 1800s Ibadan’s population grew to 200,000 in 1890, and to a million by 1930, the population is projected to reach 5.6 million by 2033. The city’s urban footprint also grew considerably to its current extent of more than 3,850 square kilometers. There are 11 Local Governments in the Ibadan Metropolitan area consisting of 5 urban local governments in the city and 6 semi-urban local governments in the less city. Local Governments at present are institutions created by the military governments but recognized by the 1999 constitution and they are the third tiers of government in Nigeria.